Beauty Review: Revlon Colorstay Ultimate Suede lipstick

IMG_0509

IMG_0506

One stroke vs. heavily swatched

IMG_0487

Freshly applied

Product Description:
Is your lipstick giving you both moisture and wear? This velvety soft formula with moisturizing shea butter and aloe is food proof and doesn’t quit. Apply once and go.
– Instant Moisture- All-day Color- Shea butter, Aloe- Soft suede finish

What a promising concept! After all the hype around very moisturising formulas and tinted lip balms, this promises the one thing most glossy lipsticks don’t – lasting power. Does it live up to my expectations?

General Info:

I bought this in the shade “Muse” for £8.99 at Boots.

Application:
It applies surprisingly sheer. If you want the colour to really show up you need to layer it up. It goes on like a slightly stickier version of the L’Oreal Rouge Caresse lipsticks (or maybe the Lip butters, but believe it or not I don’t have any!). It definitely doesn’t feel creamy or anything like a matte lipstick.

Texture:
Unfortunately this lipstick is pretty sticky. Eventually, and I kind of mean after several hours, it sort of dries. Not in a bad way – I find it neither particularly moisturizing nor drying. It reminds me of the Mac Pro Longwear Lipcolor – not as drying, but without the gloss to put on top.

Finish:
It is advertised to be semi matte. I would agree with that – it’s definitely not glossy, but also not satin or creamy either. Also not a richly pigmented as matte lipsticks are. Kind of an odd finish!

Lasting Power:
On me this lipstick becomes patchy pretty quickly. I do have fairly dry lips at the moment (as you can see in the picture above, flake alert!), and I think that’s why it last longer on some parts than others.

Shade selection:
20130320-180816.jpg
There are a lot of shades, but at the same time they are heavily based around pink and red – ranging from light pink to fuchsia, various reds, mauves and very wearable colours. No unusual bright colours – no purple or orange. I do think a lot of them are fairly similar, so I wouldn’t be tempted to buy a lot of different ones.

Overall verdict:
I am quite disappointed by this product. Having tried only one colour, I don’t want to be too judgmental, but this product looked much more promising to me than it turned out to be. The shade selection is perfect for me, but I am not sure I will be buying many more of these. If you have perfectly smooth lips, you might like these better. I will keep mine for better lips days in the summer.

Alternatives:
If you want a long lasting lipstick that it less sticky and patchy, try the No7 Stay Perfect range. I have two of those and they last a long time and fade evenly. They also feel much nicer on the lips. Alternatively, I think the Revlon Just bitten kissable balm stains are a really great product, and so are the L’Oreal glam shine Stain Splash lip stains I hear. I guess it depends if you are happy to have just a stain on your lips after several hours, or if you want a full-on lipstick look throughout.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty, Beauty reviews

Leave a Reply

