Look of the Day: Natural but contoured Base

IMG_0606

IMG_0602

Face: 
I applied Dr. Jart’s Waterfuse BB cream – I am still making my mind up about it. I like it at first but I think it oxidizes somewhat dark on my skin. As you can see it gives a pretty light coverage with plenty of dark spots showing through!
I contoured my cheeks using the bronzer from the Sleek face form palette in Light and applied the Tarte Amazonian clay blush in exposed. For concealer I used Maybelline’s dream lumi touch concealer and Vichy Dermablend, as always.

Eyes:
I fancied a bit of a change from my normal brown and bronze tones (a very slight change, arguably), so I applied “Toasted” from the Naked palette across my lid. It is a shimmery mauvey pink colour that doesn’t really show up well in the pictures. I contoured using matte beige and brown.
Most excitingly, I finally bought the real Shu Uemura eyelash curler after my fake one from Ebay broke. The difference in incredible! I thought, how much better can an eyelash curler be – they all look the same. But hello, what a difference! It requirely much less pressure to curl my lashes and gives them an amazingly rounded curl, rather than the harsh, unnatural crimping I got with the fake one. Urban Decay Cannonball mascara as usual.

Lips:
I am wearing the Kate Moss Lasting Finish lipstick for Rimmel in the shade 05. A bright, but fairly wearable pink. I am still getting used to pink lipsticks! I must say I am not a fan of the strong, sweet artificial cherry smell.

8 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Look of the Day

8 responses to “Look of the Day: Natural but contoured Base

  1. The Duchess

    I really like the BB finish on you. I would be inclined to try Dr. Jart if they had BB creams which actually accommodated darker skinned ladies! I’m a NW 40 and it wouldn’t work for me! And I am a HUGE -recent convert – to pink lipsticks. I use to be only about reds and plums but pinks are corals are what I’ve gravitating towards more and more. Great natural day look!

    • Thanks so much :). I think corals will be my next experiment. And yes, the whole thing with BB creams only available for light skin really has to be addressed. There are some western ones that come in light, medium and dark, but I haven’t heard of any Asian ones.

      • The Duchess

        No problem! 🙂 Yes sometimes it’s best to take these things one day at time! :/ I really wish they would, as there are so many beautiful formulations I’ve heard about (Healthy Mix is another one), that I can’t wear! I think the Asian market really focuses on Asian skin and maybe that’s why. I’ve seen one by Tarte that looks worth my while!

  2. I’m loving scrolling through your blog! The eyelash curler really is worth every penny isnt it! This is such a beautiful look, you look lovely xx

  3. Hi my name is Liz and I have a beauty blog and I’d love it if you’d take the time to check it out, it’s at http://lizzythomson11.wordpress.com thank you and have a nice day.

  4. I love the look of a light, natural base with a contour, it looks great on you! Maybe I’ll buy the Sleek palette. Ps- I’m loving reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

