MUA Power pouts – review and swatches!

IMG_1059

IMG_1067

These lip balm/stain sticks are the latest and cheapest (I think) version of the popular “chubby crayon” lip products. They come in six different shades and are sold for £3 at Superdrug.

MUA says: “MUA Power Pout is a lip treatment with colour intensity that relieves dry, cracked lips providing immediate moisturisation. The handy pencil-style applicator provides easy to apply sheer soft lip colour and rolls up for easy use.”

IMG_0994

“Justify” and “Broken hearted”

IMG_1044

“Justify”

IMG_1055

“Broken hearted”

Colours:

I got “Justify”, a coral with some pink undertones, and “Broken Hearted”, a reddish hot pink. “Broken Hearted” looks similar to the packaging on the lips, but “Justify” is definitely more pink/red than the bright orange packaging suggests.

Texture:

They feel very “balmy” and moisturizing. I find these somewhat softer than the Revlon JBK balm stains. It almost feels to me as if the lipstick was melting away. I prefer a most sturdy bullet, so I don’t have to fear that it will get damaged easily. As you can see in the picture, this already happened to the left one when closing the lid.

Lasting power:

The lipbalm itself wears of rather quickly as it’s so creamy, but it does leave a stain on my lips. I do reapply lipstick during the day anyway, as I work at my desk all day and it is a nice distraction. So lasting power arguably isn’t my main priority for daytime lipsticks.

Packaging:

The packaging looks very similar to the Revlon just bitten kissable balm stains. The lipsticks are twist-up. What really annoys me about these though is that the lid does not stay closed – it slides off very easily. It’s fine if you keep them on your dressing table, but I got orange colour all over my make up bag more than once.

Overall verdict:

I do recommend these as daytime lipcolours for spring and summer. They are a nice addition to my Revlon JBK balm stains as the colour range is different, and I do like the two shades that I got. However, the quality of the Revlon ones is better. The Revlon ones are more than twice the price, so I guess you get what you pay for.

9 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Beauty reviews

9 responses to “MUA Power pouts – review and swatches!

  1. Pretty Little Beauty Blog

    Did the stain it leave look similar to the color or was it just like a light pink? I am loving that Justify color it looks beautiful on you.

  2. Justify looks like a great colour. I’m a huge fan of MUA products but I havent tried these yet. Will definitely have to order these online when I do my next big haul and get them shipped over but the intl shipping does cost a lot!

  3. These look awesome the shades are gorgeous, the Justify shade is so pretty! Love the look of this product!

  4. Pingback: One Lovely Blogger Award ♥ | Blondes Love Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

